Contact

Strange encounters at work

With the help of thermal images, it is also possible to detect leaks on joints, gas pipes or insulation."

 

Ben Patterson was astonished: he had just rappelled into the splash zone of the offshore platform Claymore, one of the oil and gas company Repsol Sinopec's assets in the North Sea, when all of a sudden a seal popped out of the water and curiously observed the activity.

Patterson, who works as a thermal insulation engineer at Bilfinger UK (former name: Bilfinger Salamis UK) , was about to assist with sandblasting and recoating a 14'' dead weight support clamp when his animal companion joined him. Unfortunately, the seal, who was immediately named Sammy, didn't have a proper personal protective equipment and couldn't stay around for the full job.

 

 

Drones at work on the high seas

Falcon 8: that is the name of the drone that has been at work for Bilfinger UK for about a year now. Images taken by the drone make it possible to quickly discover cracks or other corrosion damage to platforms so that they can be promptly repaired by Bilfinger technicians. With the help of thermal images, it is also possible to detect leaks on joints, gas pipes or insulation.

   Back to people@bilfinger   

Contact Us

Kontakt

Ungewöhnliche Begegnung am Arbeitsplatz

Mit Hilfe von Wärmebildern lassen sich außerdem undichte Stellen etwa an Dichtungen, Gasleitungen oder Isolierungen aufspüren."

 

Ben Patterson staunte nicht schlecht: Gerade hatte er sich in die Spritzwasserzone der Offshore-Plattform Claymore des in der Nordsee tätigen Öl- und Gasunternehmens Repsol Sinopec abgeseilt, als auf einmal eine Robbe aus dem Wasser auftauchte und das Geschehen neugierig beäugte.

Patterson, der bei Bilfinger UK (früherer Name: Bilfinger Salamis UK) als Ingenieur für Wärmedämmung arbeitet, war gerade dabei, beim Abstrahlen und Neubeschichten einer 14 Zoll großen Lastklammer zu assistieren, als sich sein tierischer Begleiter zu ihm gesellte. Leider hatte die Robbe Sammy, wie sie direkt getauft wurde, nicht die richtige persönliche Schutzausrüstung dabei, sodass sie den Arbeiten nicht bis zum Schluss beiwohnen konnte.

 

 

Drohnen im Einsatz auf hoher See

Falcon 8: das ist der Name der Drohne, die seit rund einem Jahr für Bilfinger UK im Einsatz ist. Durch die Drohnen-Aufnahmen werden Risse oder andere Korrosionsschäden an Plattformen schnell entdeckt und zeitnah von den Bilfinger-Technikern repariert. Mit Hilfe von Wärmebildern lassen sich außerdem undichte Stellen etwa an Dichtungen, Gasleitungen oder Isolierungen aufspüren.

   Zurück zu people@bilfinger   

Kontaktieren Sie uns